Friday, January 6, 2017

Kohli:The Skipper in trio format

Indian cricket with Energy of Youth and blend of experience a balancing act by Chief Selector MSK Prasad and his team is being appreciated in social media and by media along with the past Cricketers.
Virat Kohli was officially appointed captain for all three formats of the game.
He took over leadership for the upcoming limited-overs series against England.
Mahendra Singh Dhoni, nearly lends nine years at the helm, will play only as keeper-batsman. Virat Kohli will lead a 15-member squad in both ODIs and Twenty20s against England.
All-rounder Yuvraj Singh makes a return to ODI and T20 team after nine months. Batsmen Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane have been picked only for the ODIs. While veteran Ashish Nehra makes a comeback in the T20 squad, rookie wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant is the only new face in the T20 team.
The national selection committee under MSK Prasad’s chairmanship met in Mumbai today. But it was delayed by three hours on technical grounds before a go ahead from the Lodha panel set the proceedings rolling. Today’s meeting was convened by BCCI CEO Rahul Johri after joint Secretary Amitabh Chaudhary stood disqualified owing to the Supreme Court verdict, which sacked the entire BCCI top brass last week. The series against England will start with the first ODI in Pune followed by games in Cuttack, on Jan 19 and in Kolkata on Jan 22. The T20s are scheduled from January 26 to February 1 in Kanpur, Nagpur and Bangalore.
We have selected the best possible team which can give us the best possible result, Chief Selector MSK Prasad, said at a press briefing on Friday.
“Yuvraj Singh has performed well at the domestic level and we must appreciate that,” he added.
KL Rahul, who scored a magnificent 199 in the fifth and final Test match against England in Chennai, was also included in both the teams.
Shikhar Dhawan, who missed the New Zealand ODI series because of injury, also makes a comeback despite a below-par showing in three matches for Delhi in Ranji Trophy.
Suresh Raina absent in the ODI squad, but he made it to the three-match T20 team, which follows the ODI series.
Delhi’s batting sensation Rishabh Pant, who is the fourth highest scorer in Ranji Trophy this season with 972 runs in eight matches, was included in the T20 squad despite the presence of Mahendra Singh Dhoni.
What has been impressive about Pant has been his strike rate of 107 in domestic cricket, having hit four centuries and two fifties.
Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, who was rested for the New Zealand ODI series, makes a comeback to both the ODI and T20 squads along with Ravindra Jadeja.
Veteran Ashish Nehra made it to the T20 squad along with leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal.
FIXTURES; The first ODI will be played on 15 January at Pune, followed by ODIs at Cuttack (19 January) and Kolkata (22 January).
The 3-match T20I series will then be played at Kanpur (26 January), Nagpur (29 January) and Bengaluru (1 February).
India squad for England ODIs: Virat Kohli (Capt), MS Dhoni (wk), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Harish Pandya , R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Jaspreet Bumrah, Bhuvaneswar Kumar, Umesh Yadav
India squad for England T20Is: Virat Kohli (Capt), MS Dhoni (wk), Mandeep Singh, KL Rahul, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant, Haresh Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jaspreet Bumrah, Bhuvaneswar Kumar, Ashish Nehra

No comments: